STEM Themed Competitions

Have we missed one? You can submit other STEM themed competitions by emailing community.stem.org.uk

Name of Competition  Theme Applications Website
Astro Pi Astronomy/Coding Nov-Jun https://astro-pi.org/
Bebras Challenge Computational thinking/Computing Nov-Jun https://bebras.uk/
BIEA Competition Innovation centred around sustainability Dec-Jul https://bieacompetition.org.uk/competition/
Big Bang UK Young Scientists & Engineers Competition Science/Engineering Oct-Mar https://www.thebigbang.org.uk/the-big-bang-competition/
Big STEM Challenge STEM - Open
KENT
Until end Apr https://sekgroup.org.uk/community-support/awards-and-competitions/competitions/
British Informatics Olympiad Programming Dec-Apr https://www.olympiad.org.uk/2023/
British Science Week Poster Competition  Science Sep-Mar https://www.britishscienceweek.org/plan-your-activities/poster-competition/
Build for Birds competition (LEGO) Environment and habitat (7-14 KS2-3) Feb-Mar https://theday.co.uk/build-the-change-build-for-birds/
Business of Science Innovation Award Product Design/Technology Jan-Mar https://www.theinnovationawards.co.uk/
CanSat Design and build a satellite Sep-May https://www.esa.int/Education/CanSat/Join_CanSat_2023-2024
Climate Detectives Environment and climate Sep-Apr https://climatedetectives.esa.int/united-kingdom/
Climate Science Olympiad Climate change Sep-May https://climatescience.org/olympiad
Cyber First Girls Competition Cyber security Next running 2024/25 https://www.ncsc.gov.uk/cyberfirst/girls-competition
CyberCenturion Cyber security Next running 2024/25 https://www.stem.org.uk/secondary/enrichment/competitions/cyber-centurion
David Clark Prize ERA Foundation STEM Educators Nov 23- Mar 24 https://www.erafoundation.org/news/2023/11/24/nominations-open-for-2024-david-clark-prize-recognizing-exceptional-stem-educators/
Eurekas (The)  Physics Mar 2024 https://www.iop.org/strategy/limit-less/the-eurekas
Explorify Start With Art competition Design, Art Dec 23-Mar 24 https://explorify.uk/teacher-support/helpful-reads/explorify-art-competition
F1 in Schools Challenge Engineering & Technology (Motorsport) 2023/24 https://www.f1inschools.co.uk/
First LEGO League Challenge Design & Technology 2023/24 https://education.theiet.org/first-lego-league-programmes/
FIRST Tech Challenge Robotics Sep-Mar https://firstuk.org/
Further Education Maths Challenge (16+) Maths GCSE resit/Functional Skills Nov-Mar https://mei.org.uk/teachers/functional-skills-gcse-resit/inspiring-students/further-education-maths-challenge/
GCHQ Christmas challenge Computing Dec 2024 https://www.gchq.gov.uk/news/schoolsxmaschallenge2023
goIT Monthly Challenge Various NA https://tcsempowers.tcsapps.com/emea/goit-main/monthly-challenge
Green Power Competition  Engineering & Technology (Motorsport) 2023/24 http://www.greenpower.co.uk/
IET Faraday Challenge Engineering & Technology 2023/24 https://education.theiet.org/iet-faraday-challenge-days/
If you were an engineer what would you do?  Engineering  Until March 2024 https://leadersaward.com/
International Chemistry Bowl Chemistry Until March 2023 https://www.chemistrybowl.org/home
International Greenwich Olympiad Multiple STEM Fields Oct-Mar https://igolondon.co.uk/
Mission X: Train like an Astronaut Physics/Astronomy  Sep-May https://trainlikeanastronaut.org/
Moon Camp Physics/Astronomy  Sep-May https://mooncampchallenge.org/
My Environment My Future Built environment Until April https://memf.careers/
National Scientific Thinking Challenge Scientific thinking Last week of April https://warwick.ac.uk/services/socialinclusion/projects/scientificthinking
Pi Wars Robotics/D&T Nov-Jan https://piwars.org/
Ritangle Maths (16+) Oct-Dec https://mei.org.uk/ritangle/ 
Rolls Royce Schools Prize for Science and Technology Science & Technology Sep-Apr https://careers.rolls-royce.com/united-kingdom/stem/science-prize
Starpack Schools Competition Design & Technology Until July  https://www.iom3.org/events-awards/competitions/starpack-competition/2024-starpack-schools-competition.html
TCS Global Innovator of the Year  Innovation/Sustainable development  2023/24 https://tcsempowers.tcsapps.com/emea/goit-main/ioty
TDI Challenge Technology, Design and Innovation  https://www.mta.org.uk/services/skills/tdi-challenge/ 
TeenTech Awards Innovation, Skills & Research Mar https://teentech.com/awards/

Time + Space Award

STEM (16-25) Jan-Apr 2024 https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/who-we-are/news/time-and-space-newton-competition
Top Of The Bench (RSC) Chemistry  Sep-Mar https://edu.rsc.org/enrichment/top-of-the-bench
UK Chemistry Olympiad Chemistry Sep-Jan https://edu.rsc.org/enrichment/uk-chemistry-olympiad
UK Maths Trust competitions Maths (various ages and abilities) Year round https://ukmt.org.uk/ 
UK Space Design competition STEM (15-18, KS4/5) Jul - Mar https://uksdc.org/
UK Youth rocketry challenge Rocketry Until end of Feb https://www.ukroc.com/
Ultimate STEM Challenge Design & Technology (Textiles)  2023/24 https://energisingfutures.co.uk/ultimate-stem-challenge/
VEX Robotics Competitions Robotics 2023/24 https://www.vexrobotics.com/competition
Young Coders Competition Coding (Ages 7-13) Nov-May

https://codingcompetition.org/